Girls for Gender Equity

Publish Date: 
2016
Media Type: 

Girls for Gender Equity (GGE) is an intergenerational organization committed to the physical, psychological, social, and economic development of girls and women. Through education, organizing and physical fitness, GGE encourages communities to remove barriers and create opportunities for girls and women to live self-determined lives.

GGE achieves its mission through organizing in schools and in communities throughout New York City with programming such as the Urban Leadership Academy and Sisters in Strength, both utilizing evidence based youth development and social justice models.

GGE utilizes a two-pronged approach of community organizing and service provision, mobilizing 600 NYC boys and girls ages 8-19, as well as women and men under Title IX of the Education Amendment and its ten points, to work collectively toward systemic change. Resources are available on the website.

 

Visit the website to learn about the ways GGE is engaging young girls and women of color to become activists. Resources, publications, reports and many innovative ideas for educating and engaging young people can be found on the website.

Create Account

Create an account to save and submit your own prevention resources. Begin here.

Recent News

Tuesday, 13 March 2018
WEBINAR ANNOUNCEMENT 2:00-3:30pm Eastern / 1:00-2:30pm Central / 12:00-1:30pm Mountain / 11:00am-12:30pm Pacific
Thursday, 8 March 2018
WEBINAR ANNOUNCEMENT 2:00-3:30pm Eastern / 1:00-2:30pm Central / 12:00-1:30pm Mountain / 11:00am-12:30pm Pacific

Notice of Federal Funding and Federal Disclaimer: This website is funded through Grant #90EV0410-03 from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Administration for Children and Families, Family and Youth Services Bureau, Family Violence Prevention and Services Program [which incorporates funding provided by the National Center on Injury Prevention and Control/Center for Disease Control and Prevention (NCIPC/CDC)]. Neither the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services nor any of its components operate, control, are responsible for, or necessarily endorse this website including, without limitation, its content, technical infrastructure, and policies, and any services or tools provided.

Subscribe to the PreventIPV newsletter